JBL Blog

Sign up to receive updates, special offers, and promotions by email.


Looking for more information about your nursing certification? The links below will help you find the right certification exam in addition to essential knowledge about advancing within the nursing profession.

American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN)
AACN Certification Corporation develops and administers the CCRN, PCCN, CCNS and ACNPC specialty exams, and the CMC and CSC subspecialty exams. In collaboration with the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) Credentialing Center they also offer the CNML exam.

American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
ANCC is the world’s largest and most prestigious nurse credentialing organization. ANCC certification exams validate nurses’ skills, knowledge, and abilities. More than a quarter million nurses have been certified by ANCC since 1990. More than 80,000 advanced practice nurses are currently certified by ANCC.

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
AANP formed in 1985 to provide NPs with a unified way to network and advocate for NP issues and was the first national organization created for nurse practitioners of all specialties. As the largest and only full-service national professional membership organization for NPs of all specialties, AANP represents the interests of the more than 148,000 NPs currently practicing in the U. S. and continually advocates at local, state, and federal levels for the recognition of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, and personalized healthcare.

American Nurses Association (ANA)
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.

American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB)
The American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) is the national certifying body for Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs) and Certified Midwives (CMs). The certification function is a critical aspect of professional quality assurance in midwifery.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
For more than 60 years, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has been dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability. They are committed to programs that reduce the health and economic consequences of the leading causes of death and disability, thereby ensuring a long, productive, healthy life for all people.

Certification for Adult, Pediatric and Neonatal Critical Care Nurses (CCRN)
CCRN® specialty certification was introduced in 1976 for nurses providing care to acutely and/or critically ill adult, pediatric and neonatal patients. Nurses interested in this certification may work in specialty areas such as: intensive care units; cardiac care units; combined ICU/CCUs; medical/surgical ICUs; trauma units or critical care transport/flight.

Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)
Originally aimed at teaching and networking, the ENA has evolved into an authority, advocate, lobbyist, and voice for emergency nursing. The ENA has 30,000+ members and continues to grow, with members representing over 32 countries around the world.

International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE)
The International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) is a non-profit organization established to develop and administer the certification examination for lactation consultants. The IBLCE examination is the premier, internationally recognized measure of competence in lactation consulting.

International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA)
The International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA) is the professional association for International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLCs) and other health care professionals who care for breastfeeding families. They are a worldwide network of lactation professionals with a mission to advance the profession of lactation consulting worldwide through leadership, advocacy, professional development, and research.

National Certification Corporation (NCC) Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Exam
The National Certification Corporation (NCC) is a not for profit organization providing national credentialing program for nurses, physicians and other licensed health care personnel. Certification is awarded to nurses in the obstetric, gynecologic, and neonatal nursing specialties and certificates of added qualification are awarded to licensed health care professionals in the subspecialty area of electronic fetal monitoring.

Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC)
The Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC) is a non-profit organization that develops, administers, and evaluates programs for certification in oncology nursing. ONCC was incorporated in 1984 and is governed by a Board of Directors representing various levels of certification in oncology nursing and the public at large.

Oncology Nursing Society (ONS)
The Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) is a professional organization of over 37,000 registered nurses and other healthcare providers dedicated to excellence in patient care, education, research, and administration in oncology nursing. ONS members are a diverse group of professionals who represent a variety of professional roles, practice settings, and subspecialty practice areas. The Society offers useful information and opportunities for nurses at all levels, in all practice settings, and in all subspecialties.

Progressive Care Certified Nurse (PCCN)
PCCN® specialty certification was introduced in 2004 for nurses providing care to acutely ill adult patients regardless of the geographic location of their nursing care. Nurses interested in this certification may work in such areas as intermediate care, direct observation, stepdown, telemetry, transitional care or emergency departments.